

August 5, 2010

The Honorable Lisa Jackson Environmental Protection Agency 1200 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20460

Dear Administrator Jackson:

On behalf of the Midwestern Governors Association (MGA), I urge you to take immediate action to approve the pending waiver request to increase the alcohol-gasoline blend to 15 percent ethanol (E-15) by volume in unleaded gasoline from its current level of ten percent (E-10).

One year ago, my fellow Midwestern governors and I sent a letter to you requesting this same approval. The letter is enclosed. Despite the statutory deadline of December 2009, the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) has now twice extended that deadline. We do not sense that a decision is imminent at this time.

The delay in action harms the nation's ability to meet the long-term and immediate targets of the Renewable Fuels Standard. Expanding the blending level to the safe level of E-15 would decrease our dependence on overseas oil, increase the production of more environmentally safe fuel and create more domestic jobs at a time when our nation is in great need.

Your immediate attention to this waiver is appreciated.

If you or your staff have any questions, please contact Emily Marthaler with the MGA. She can be reached at either 202-624-8474 or <u>emarthaler@csg.org</u>.

Sincerely,

Sed Strickland

Ted Strickland Governor of Ohio and Chair, Midwestern Governors Association

cc: Secretary Tom Vilsack, U.S. Department of Agriculture Secretary Steven Chu, U.S. Department of Energy Midwestern Congressional Delegation 444 North Capitol Street, NW Suite 401 Washington, DC 20001 Tel: 202.624.5460 Fax: 202.624.5452 www.midwesterngovernors.org

> **Regional Office** 701 East 22nd Street Suite 110 Lombard, Illinois 60148 Tel: 630.925.1922 Fax: 630.925.1930

> > Chair **Ted Strickland** Ohio

Immediate Past Chair Jennifer Granholm Michigan

> Chester J. Culver Iowa

> > Mitch Daniels Indiana

Past Chair, 2007 Jim Doyle Wisconsin

> Jay Nixon Missouri

Mark Parkinson Kansas

Past Chair, 2006 **Tim Pawlenty** Minnesota

> Pat Quinn Illinois

Past Chair, 2008 M. Michael Rounds South Dakota