

MIDWESTERN GOVERNORS ASSOCIATION

641 East Butterfield Road Suite 401 Lombard, IL 60148-5651 Tel: 630.810.0210 Fax: 630.810.0145

Washington Office 444 North Capitol Street, NW Suite 401 Washington, DC 20001-1512

Chair Rod Blagojevich Illinois

Vice Chair Tim Pawlenty Minnesota

Matt Blunt Missouri

Mitch Daniels Indiana

Jim Doyle Wisconsin

Ernie Fletcher Kentucky

Jennifer Granholm Michigan

Dave Heineman Nebraska

Past Chair, 2004 **John Hoeven** North Dakota

M. Michael Rounds South Dakota

Kathleen Sebelius Kansas

Bob Taft Ohio

Past Chair, 2001 **Thomas J. Vilsack** lowa

Illinois Gov. Rod Blagojevich Elected Chair of Midwestern Governors Association

March 3, 2005 – Gov. Rod Blagojevich will assume the chairmanship of the Midwestern Governors Association this week, after being elected to that position by his fellow Midwestern governors. He will serve as chairperson for one year.

As chair of the 13 state bipartisan organization, Blagojevich will lead the efforts of his fellow governors to work cooperatively on important issues facing the Midwest. "I am honored to take on this leadership role with the Midwestern Governors Association," said Blagojevich. "As governors, we each have unique challenges and opportunities. We also share a common vision for our states. By working collectively on important Midwestern issues, we can become a more effective voice for the people of our region."

Blagojevich's term will follow the chairmanship of North Dakota Gov. John Hoeven. The Midwestern Governors Association will hold its next meeting on February 27 in Washington, DC. At this meeting, Governor Blagojevich will discuss his chairman's agenda for 2005 which will focus on state efforts to lower the cost of prescription drugs. Additionally, he will discuss the coordination of coal power plant emissions and transportation activities within the region.

In addition to Blagojevich, the current members of the Midwestern Governors Association include: Vice Chair Gov. Tim Pawlenty of Minnesota, Indiana Gov. Mitch Daniels, Iowa Gov. Tom Vilsack, Kentucky Gov. Ernie Fletcher, Kansas Gov. Kathleen Sebelius, Michigan Gov. Jennifer Granholm, Missouri Gov. Matt Blunt, Nebraska Gov. Dave Heineman, North Dakota Gov. John Hoeven, Ohio Gov. Bob Taft, South Dakota Gov. M. Michael Rounds, and Wisconsin Gov. Jim Doyle.

The purpose of the Midwestern Governors Association is to foster regional development, facilitate interstate cooperation, improve intergovernmental relationships, and to provide a medium for the exchange of views and experiences on subjects of general importance to the people of the Midwestern states.