

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Elizabeth Raines (202) 624-5460 October 17, 2007

Governor Doyle Announces Summit on Energy Independence Midwestern Governors to Gather in Milwaukee Next Month

Washington D.C.- Gov. Jim Doyle, chair of the Midwestern Governors Association (MGA), announced that Milwaukee will host the MGA Energy Security and Climate Change Summit on Nov. 14 and 15. At the summit, governors from across the Midwest will pursue new regional initiatives to increase the production and use of renewable energy, promote energy efficiency, and ensure a reliable electric grid.

"The United States should depend less on the Mideast and more on the Midwest for its energy needs," Doyle said. "Wisconsin and the entire Midwest have the opportunity to lead the nation in the fight against global warming. We look forward to welcoming governors and delegates from across the Midwest to take the next steps to achieve energy independence."

The summit will be co-hosted by Minnesota Gov. Tim Pawlenty, immediate past chair of the MGA and current chair of the National Governors Association.

"Our nation has enjoyed more than a hundred years of inexpensive energy, seemingly inexhaustible oil and a relatively forgiving environment," Pawlenty said. "But America can no longer rely on business as usual to meet its energy needs, and the nation's governors are prepared to lead the way in crafting a sensible, sustainable clean energy future."

Regional policy leaders from business, government and nonprofit sectors are invited to attend the summit. To register or for more information visit the MGA website at www.midwesterngovernors.org.

The Energy Security and Climate Stewardship Summit is being organized by MGA and funded by the Joyce Foundation. The purpose of MGA is to foster regional development, facilitate interstate cooperation, improve intergovernmental relationships, and to provide a medium for the exchange of views and experiences on subjects of general importance to the people of the Midwestern states.

NOTE: Reporters interested in attending the summit should contact Rachel Allen in Gov. Doyle's Office at 608-267-3839.

Interested parties can register for the summit at <u>www.midwesterngovernors.org</u>.

In addition to Doyle and Pawlenty, the current members of the Midwestern Governors Association are Gov. Rod Blagojevich (IL), Gov. Mitch Daniels (IN), Gov. Chet Culver (IA), Gov. Kathleen Sebelius (KS), Gov. Jennifer Granholm (MI), Gov. Matt Blunt, (MO), Gov. Dave Heineman (NE), Gov. John Hoeven (ND), Gov. Ted Strickland (OH), and Gov. Mike Rounds (SD).

444 North Capitol Street, NW Suite 401 Washington, DC 20001-1512 Tel: 202.624.5460 Fax: 202.624.5452

Regional Office 701 East 22nd Street Suite 110 Lombard, Illinois 60148 Tel: 630.925.1922 Fax: 630.925.1930 www.midwesterngovernors.org

> Chair **Jim Doyle** Wisconsin

Vice Chair

M. Michael Rounds

South Dakota

Past Chair, 2005 Rod Blagojevich Illinois

> Matt Blunt Missouri

Chester J. Culver

Mitch Daniels
Indiana

Jennifer Granholm

Michigan

Dave Heineman Nebraska

> Past Chair, 2004 **John Hoeven** North Dakota

Past Chair, 2006 **Tim Pawlenty**Minnesota

Kathleen Sebelius
Kansas

Ted Strickland