

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Emily Marthaler (202) 624-5460 July 17, 2008

MGA CALLS ON CONGRESS TO FIX HIGHWAY TRUST FUND SHORTFALL

Washington, D.C. – The Midwestern Governors Association (MGA) is calling on Congress to fix the looming shortfall in the Highway Trust Fund (HTF). In a letter sent on behalf of the MGA by its chair, South Dakota Gov. Mike Rounds, and vice chair, Michigan Gov. Jennifer Granholm, the governors stress the need to quickly solve the shortfall to allow states to adequately plan their transportation projects.

Addressing the looming shortfall of the HTF is the first component of MGA chair's agenda - *Transportation for Energy, People, and Products*.

"Fixing and maintaining our current transportation system is of vital importance to our economy," Rounds said. "While states continue to do all we can to invest and address our transportation needs, the federal government needs to continue to do its part by solving the projected shortfall in the Highway Trust Fund."

"Our nation's highway system is critical to the growth of our states' economies," said Granholm. "As the nation's infrastructure ages and endures more traffic, ensuring that the Highway Trust Fund can provide support for repairs and upgrades is critical for business and citizens."

The Midwestern Governors Association (MGA) is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization that brings together the governors of 12 states to work cooperatively on public policy issues of significance to the Midwestern region. In addition to Rounds and Granholm, the current members of the MGA include: Gov. Rod Blagojevich (Ill.), Gov. Mitch Daniels (Ind.), Gov. Chet Culver (Iowa), Gov. Kathleen Sebelius (Kansas), Gov. Tim Pawlenty (Minn.), Gov. Matt Blunt (Mo.), Gov. Dave Heineman (Neb.), Gov. John Hoeven (N.D.), Gov. Ted Strickland (Ohio), and Gov. Jim Doyle (Wis.).

444 North Capitol Street, NW

Suite 401

Washington, DC 20001-1512 Tel: 202.624.5460

Fax: 202.624.5452

Regional Office 701 East 22nd Street

Suite 110 Lombard, Illinois 60148

> Tel: 630.925.1922 Fax: 630.925.1930

www.midwesterngovernors.org

Chair
M. Michael Rounds
South Dakota

Vice Chair **Jennifer Granholm** Michigan

> Past Chair, 2005 **Rod Blagojevich** Illinois

> > Matt Blunt Missouri

Chester J. Culver

Mitch Daniels
Indiana

Past Chair 2007

Jim Doyle

Wisconsin

Dave Heineman Nebraska

Past Chair, 2004 **John Hoeven** North Dakota

Past Chair, 2006 **Tim Pawlenty** Minnesota

Kathleen Sebelius Kansas

> Ted Strickland Ohio