

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Jesse Heier (202) 624-5460 December 18, 2008

MGA Calls on EPA to Continue Efforts to Encourage Carbon Capture and Storage

Washington, D.C. – The Midwestern Governors Association sent a letter this week to Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Administrator Stephen Johnson commending the agency on its efforts to support the long-term sequestration of carbon. The letter also calls on the EPA to continue to encourage and promote technological advancements in carbon capture and storage (CCS) techniques through its regulatory role. This support will help bring CCS technology to commercial use. The letter was sent on behalf of the association by South Dakota Gov. Mike Rounds, MGA chair, and Michigan Gov. Jennifer Granholm, MGA vice chair.

"The Midwest is home to vast reserves of coal and ideal geological formations for carbon sequestration," Rounds said. "Coal must be a part of any national energy strategy, and by deploying carbon sequestration technologies we can resolve the carbon dioxide issue."

"Midwestern governors are taking action to find new energy solutions that will make America energy independent and protect the environment," Granholm stated. "As states continue to transition to a 'green' economy, carbon capture and sequestration will bring new jobs and economic development to the Midwest and decrease our greenhouse gas emissions."

In November 2007, the MGA adopted the *Energy Security and Climate Stewardship Platform* (Platform). The Platform provides a portfolio of options for the Midwest to reduce greenhouse gas emissions, including the development of CCS. Other priorities laid out in the Platform include promoting energy efficiency, the region's bioeconomy, and renewable fuels for the transportation and electricity sectors.

To view the Platform or the letter, please visit: www.midwesterngovernors.org.

444 North Capitol Street, NW

Suite 401

Washington, DC 20001-1512 Tel: 202.624.5460

Fax: 202.624.5452

Regional Office 701 East 22nd Street Suite 110 Lombard, Illinois 60148

> Tel: 630.925.1922 Fax: 630.925.1930

www.midwesterngovernors.org

Chair
M. Michael Rounds
South Dakota

Vice Chair **Jennifer Granholm** Michigan

> Past Chair, 2005 Rod Blagojevich Illinois

> > Matt Blunt Missouri

Chester J. Culver Iowa

Mitch Daniels
Indiana

Past Chair 2007

Jim Doyle

Wisconsin

Dave Heineman

Nebraska

Past Chair, 2004 **John Hoeven** North Dakota

Past Chair, 2006 **Tim Pawlenty** Minnesota

Kathleen Sebelius

Kansas

Ted Strickland Ohio