

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Emily Marthaler (202) 624-5460 July 28, 2008

MGA Applauds U.S. House on Vote to Fix Highway Trust Fund Shortfall

Washington, D.C. – The Midwestern Governors Association (MGA) applauds the U.S. House of Representatives for its recent vote to fix the looming shortfall in the Highway Trust Fund (HTF).

While this action is only a temporary fix to a continuing problem, it is imperative to ensure funding for transportation projects already incorporated into state budgets.

"The Highway Trust Fund shortfall is a critical issue that must be resolved," says South Dakota Gov. Mike Rounds, chair of the MGA. "The U.S. Senate should act quickly to complete this temporary response allowing highway projects planned and needed in the states to proceed."

"This is a step toward fixing the looming shortfall of the Highway Trust Fund," adds Michigan Gov. Jennifer Granholm, vice chair of the MGA. "Until Congress finishes its action on fixing the HTF, states' transportation projects will remain in limbo, putting our state economies at risk."

In June, the MGA leadership sent a letter to Congress urging action to fix the shortfall. Addressing the looming shortfall of the HTF is the first component of Rounds' agenda as MGA chair - *Transportation for Energy, People, and Products.*

The Midwestern Governors Association (MGA) is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization that brings together the governors of 12 states to work cooperatively on public policy issues of significance to the Midwestern region. In addition to Rounds and Granholm, the current members of the MGA are Gov. Rod Blagojevich (Ill.), Gov. Mitch Daniels (Ind.), Gov. Chet Culver (Iowa), Gov. Kathleen Sebelius (Kansas), Gov. Tim Pawlenty (Minn.), Gov. Matt Blunt (Mo.), Gov. Dave Heineman (Neb.), Gov. John Hoeven (N.D.), Gov. Ted Strickland (Ohio), and Gov. Jim Doyle (Wis.). 444 North Capitol Street, NW Suite 401 Washington, DC 20001-1512 Tel: 202.624.5460 Fax: 202.624.5452

Regional Office 701 East 22nd Street Suite 110 Lombard, Illinois 60148 Tel: 630.925.1922 Fax: 630.925.1930 www.midwesterngovernors.org

> Chair **M. Michael Rounds** South Dakota

Vice Chair Jennifer Granholm Michigan

> Past Chair, 2005 Rod Blagojevich Illinois

> > Matt Blunt Missouri

Chester J. Culver Iowa

> Mitch Daniels Indiana

Past Chair 2007 Jim Doyle Wisconsin

Dave Heineman Nebraska

> Past Chair, 2004 John Hoeven North Dakota

Past Chair, 2006 **Tim Pawlenty** Minnesota

Kathleen Sebelius Kansas

> Ted Strickland Ohio