

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Emily Marthaler (202) 624-5460 August 11, 2008

MGA Applauds EPA's Decision to Uphold Renewable Fuels Standard

Washington, D.C. – The Midwestern Governors Association (MGA) applauds Environmental Protection Agency Administrator Stephen Johnson's decision to uphold the Renewable Fuels Standard (RFS) and deny requests for waiving its new, tougher standards.

"Administrator Johnson's decision to uphold the RFS reaffirms that renewable and alternative sources of energy are vital to our nation's energy security," said South Dakota Gov. Mike Rounds, MGA chair. "It is important that we continue to support the renewable fuels industry as we move toward the next generation of biofuels."

"The RFS is a vital tool in our efforts to reduce America's greenhouse gas emissions and cut our dependence on foreign oil," said Michigan Gov. Jennifer Granholm, vice chair of the MGA. "This decision is an important step in continuing work toward the advancement of biofuels, which are an important part of America's energy future."

The MGA submitted a letter in early June to Johnson to uphold the RFS. Since that time, it has been active in showcasing the benefits that the RFS and biofuels have on the economy, the environment and national security.

The MGA is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization that brings together the governors of 12 states to work cooperatively on public policy issues of significance to the Midwestern region. In addition to Rounds and Granholm, the current members of the MGA are Gov. Rod Blagojevich (Ill.), Gov. Mitch Daniels (Ind.), Gov. Chet Culver (Iowa), Gov. Kathleen Sebelius (Kansas), Gov. Tim Pawlenty (Minn.), Gov. Matt Blunt (Mo.), Gov. Dave Heineman (Neb.), Gov. John Hoeven (N.D.), Gov. Ted Strickland (Ohio) and Gov. Jim Doyle (Wis.).

444 North Capitol Street, NW

Suite 401

Washington, DC 20001-1512 Tel: 202.624.5460

Fax: 202.624.5452

Regional Office 701 East 22nd Street

Suite 110 Lombard, Illinois 60148 Tel: 630.925.1922

Fax: 630.925.1930

www.midwesterngovernors.org

Chair
M. Michael Rounds
South Dakota

Vice Chair **Jennifer Granholm** Michigan

> Past Chair, 2005 **Rod Blagojevich** Illinois

> > Matt Blunt Missouri

Chester J. Culver Iowa

Mitch Daniels
Indiana

Past Chair 2007

Jim Doyle

Wisconsin

Dave Heineman

Nebraska

Past Chair, 2004 **John Hoeven** North Dakota

Past Chair, 2006 **Tim Pawlenty** Minnesota

Kathleen Sebelius

Kansas

Ted Strickland Ohio