

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Emily Marthaler (202) 624-5460 July 24, 2008

Midwestern Governors Renew Call to EPA to Uphold Renewable Fuels Standard

Washington, D.C. – The Midwestern Governors Association (MGA) is renewing its call for U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Administrator Stephen Johnson to uphold the federal government's Renewable Fuels Standard (RFS). The MGA submitted a letter in June to Administrator Johnson to oppose requests by states for waivers of the RFS. In the letter, the region's governors said attempts to blame the RFS for high oil prices were "misguided."

EPA previously was set to announce its decision on the waiver on the RFS today, July 24, 2008, its statutory deadline. Citing the extra time needed to review the submitted comments, Johnson expects to make a decision by early August.

"While it is reassuring that the EPA is making a thorough analysis of the waiver to the RFS, it is time to send a message that renewable and alternative energy need to be supported," said South Dakota Gov. Mike Rounds, chair of the MGA. "The RFS plays an important role in supporting the continued evolution of biofuels production, keeping American dollars here at home and providing a more secure energy future."

The MGA is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization that brings together the governors of 12 states to work cooperatively on public policy issues of significance to the Midwestern region. In addition to Rounds, the current members of the MGA are Gov. Rod Blagojevich (Ill.), Gov. Mitch Daniels (Ind.), Gov. Chet Culver (Iowa), Gov. Kathleen Sebelius (Kansas), Gov. Jennifer Granholm (Mich.), Gov. Tim Pawlenty (Minn.), Gov. Matt Blunt (Mo.), Gov. Dave Heineman (Neb.), Gov. John Hoeven (N.D.), Gov. Ted Strickland (Ohio) and Gov. Jim Doyle (Wis.).

444 North Capitol Street, NW

Suite 401

Washington, DC 20001-1512 Tel: 202.624.5460

Fax: 202.624.5452

Regional Office 701 East 22nd Street Suite 110

Lombard, Illinois 60148 Tel: 630.925.1922 Fax: 630.925.1930

www.midwesterngovernors.org

Chair
M. Michael Rounds
South Dakota

Vice Chair **Jennifer Granholm** Michigan

> Past Chair, 2005 **Rod Blagojevich** Illinois

> > Matt Blunt Missouri

Chester J. Culver

Mitch Daniels

Past Chair 2007

Jim Doyle Wisconsin

Indiana

Dave Heineman Nebraska

> Past Chair, 2004 **John Hoeven** North Dakota

Past Chair, 2006 **Tim Pawlenty** Minnesota

Kathleen Sebelius Kansas

> Ted Strickland Ohio