

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Emily Marthaler (202) 624-5460

June 10, 2008

MGA URGES EPA TO UPHOLD RENEWABLE FUELS STANDARD

Washington, D.C. – Leaders of the Midwestern Governors Association (MGA) urged Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Administrator Stephen Johnson to uphold the federal government's new and higher Renewable Fuels Standard (RFS) by not granting waivers.

South Dakota Gov. Mike Rounds and Michigan Gov. Jennifer Granholm sent the letter on behalf of the MGA. The letter supports current law and specifically focuses on the national benefits associated with the increase use of renewable fuels, such as ethanol. These benefits include decreasing the nation's dependence on oil, improving rural economies, and reducing pollutants in the air.

The letter also says the blame ethanol receives for increased food prices is misguided. Waivers to the RFS, the governors stressed, will not reduce current food commodity prices. Additionally, the letter addresses the ability of the RFS to encourage the development of cellulosic materials into ethanol.

"The enactment of the new and tougher RFS is a great step toward domestic and sustainable sources of energy," according to Rounds, chair of the MGA. "We should emphasize ethanol's impact on reducing energy prices at a time when the price of oil continues to skyrocket."

The Midwestern Governors Association is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization that brings together the governors of 12 states to work cooperatively on public policy issues of significance to the Midwestern region. In addition to Rounds and Granholm, the current members of the Midwestern Governors Association include: Gov. Rod Blagojevich (IL), Gov. Mitch Daniels (IN), Gov. Chet Culver (IA), Gov. Kathleen Sebelius (KS), Gov. Tim Pawlenty (MN), Gov. Matt Blunt (MO), Gov. Dave Heineman (NE), Gov. John Hoeven (ND), Gov. Ted Strickland (OH), and Gov. Jim Doyle (WI).

444 North Capitol Street, NW

Suite 401

Washington, DC 20001-1512 Tel: 202.624.5460

Fax: 202.624.5452

Regional Office 701 East 22nd Street Suite 110

Lombard, Illinois 60148 Tel: 630.925.1922 Fax: 630.925.1930

www.midwesterngovernors.org

Chair
M. Michael Rounds
South Dakota

Vice Chair **Jennifer Granholm** Michigan

> Past Chair, 2005 **Rod Blagojevich** Illinois

> > Matt Blunt Missouri

Chester J. Culver Iowa

Mitch Daniels
Indiana

Past Chair 2007

Jim Doyle

Wisconsin

Dave Heineman Nebraska

> Past Chair, 2004 **John Hoeven** North Dakota

Past Chair, 2006 **Tim Pawlenty**Minnesota

Kathleen Sebelius Kansas

> Ted Strickland Ohio