

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Emily Marthaler (202) 624-5460 July 9, 2008

MGA PARTNERS WITH NWCC TO COSPONSOR WIND ENERGY CONFERENCE

Washington, D.C. – The Midwestern Governors Association (MGA), in partnership with the National Wind Coordinating Collaborative (NWCC), is sponsoring *Midwestern Wind Energy: Moving It to Markets*. The conference will be held July 31 through August 1 in Dearborn, Mich. Gov. Jennifer Granholm is scheduled to provide remarks and address the potential of wind energy in the Midwest.

The conference will bring together various stakeholders: policy makers; utilities; regulators; state, federal and tribal agencies; wind and transmission developers; renewable advocates; and environmental groups. These groups will discuss the actions needed to implement transmission elements of the MGA's Energy Security and Climate Stewardship Platform.

The conference will explore the contributions that wind power in the Midwest can make toward achieving the goal of generating 20 percent of electricity from wind power (nationally and regionally).

To register, or for additional information, please visit http://midwestern08.windworkshops.org

The MGA is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization that brings together the governors of 12 states to work cooperatively on public policy issues of significance to the Midwest. The current members of the Midwestern Governors Association include: Gov. Rod Blagojevich (Ill.), Gov. Mitch Daniels (Ind.), Gov. Chet Culver (Iowa), Gov. Kathleen Sebelius (Kansas), Gov. Jennifer Granholm (Mich.), Gov. Tim Pawlenty (Minn.), Gov. Matt Blunt (Mo.), Gov. Dave Heineman (Neb.), Gov. John Hoeven (N.D.), Gov. Ted Strickland (Ohio), Gov. Mike Rounds (S.D.) and Gov. Jim Doyle (Wis.).

444 North Capitol Street, NW

Suite 401

Washington, DC 20001-1512 Tel: 202.624.5460

Fax: 202.624.5452

Regional Office 701 East 22nd Street Suite 110

Lombard, Illinois 60148 Tel: 630.925.1922 Fax: 630.925.1930

www.midwesterngovernors.org

Chair **M. Michael Rounds**South Dakota

Vice Chair **Jennifer Granholm** Michigan

> Past Chair, 2005 **Rod Blagojevich** Illinois

> > Matt Blunt Missouri

Chester J. Culver Iowa

Mitch Daniels
Indiana

Past Chair 2007

Jim Doyle

Wisconsin

Dave Heineman Nebraska

> Past Chair, 2004 **John Hoeven** North Dakota

Past Chair, 2006 **Tim Pawlenty**Minnesota

Kathleen Sebelius Kansas

> Ted Strickland Ohio