

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Emily Marthaler (202) 624-5460 September 9, 2008

MGA Calls for Immediate Senate Action on the HTF

Washington, D.C. – The Midwestern Governors Association (MGA) is renewing its call for the Senate to pass legislation to provide a temporary fix to the Highway Trust Fund (HTF). Without a short-term fix this week, the U.S. Department of Transportation has said it will begin reimbursing states on a delayed, pro-rated basis.

"This shortfall is no surprise," said South Dakota Gov. Mike Rounds, MGA chair. "The temporary fix to the Highway Trust Fund has been stalled for several weeks while Congress was in recess. It's time for Congress to act, addressing the immediate Highway Trust Fund shortage, and preparing for the long-term changes as necessary to fix our highway funding crisis."

Michigan Gov. Jennifer Granholm, MGA vice chair, added: "Transportation projects are crucial to our states. While states have taken action to ensure these projects continue, the federal government must keep its promise to help fund infrastructure."

A shortfall in the HTF has been estimated for some time.

In June, the MGA sent a letter to the Senate Finance Committee and House Ways and Means Committee urging congressional action to resolve the funding shortfall before addressing the reauthorization of the transportation bill. Prior to adjourning for August recess, the House passed legislation addressing the fiscal problem, a move that the MGA applauded.

The MGA is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization that brings together the governors of 12 states to work cooperatively on public policy issues of significance to the Midwest. In addition to Rounds and Granholm, the current members of the MGA include: Gov. Rod Blagojevich (Ill.), Gov. Mitch Daniels (Ind.), Gov. Chet Culver (Iowa), Gov. Kathleen Sebelius (Kansas), Gov. Tim Pawlenty (Minn.), Gov. Matt Blunt (Mo.), Gov. Dave Heineman (Neb.), Gov. John Hoeven (N.D.), Gov. Ted Strickland (Ohio), and Gov. Jim Doyle (Wis.).

444 North Capitol Street, NW

Suite 401

Washington, DC 20001-1512 Tel: 202.624.5460

Fax: 202.624.5452

Regional Office 701 East 22nd Street Suite 110

Lombard, Illinois 60148 Tel: 630.925.1922

Fax: 630.925.1930

www.midwesterngovernors.org

Chair
M. Michael Rounds
South Dakota

Vice Chair **Jennifer Granholm** Michigan

> Past Chair, 2005 **Rod Blagojevich** Illinois

> > Matt Blunt Missouri

Chester J. Culver Iowa

Mitch Daniels
Indiana

Past Chair 2007

Jim Doyle

Wisconsin

Dave Heineman Nebraska

> Past Chair, 2004 **John Hoeven** North Dakota

> Past Chair, 2006 **Tim Pawlenty** Minnesota

Kathleen Sebelius Kansas

> Ted Strickland Ohio