

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Emily Marthaler (202) 624-5460 January 27, 2009

MGA Applauds Decision by DHS to Locate Bio and Agro-Defense Facility in Kansas

Washington, D.C. – The Midwestern Governors Association applauds the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's recent decision to locate the new National Bio and Agro-Defense Facility (NBAF) in Manhattan, Kan., on the Kansas State University campus grounds. This new facility will perform cutting-edge animal-health research to protect the food supply and the agriculture economy.

"The decision to locate the NBAF in Kansas is of great benefit to both the state of Kansas and the Midwest," Kansas Gov. Kathleen Sebelius said. "The Midwest has a common agriculture heritage and this lab will defend American agriculture from threats."

"Locating such an important research facility in a Midwestern state will be beneficial to the entire region," South Dakota Gov. Mike Rounds, MGA chair, stated. "The decision by DHS emphasizes the national and global leadership of the Midwest in agriculture, research and safety."

MGA sent a letter to DHS in May 2008 to support the Kansas site as the choice for the NBAF, as it was the only finalist proposal located in the Midwest.

To view the letter, please visit: www.midwesterngovernors.org/resolutions.htm.

The Midwestern Governors Association (MGA) is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization that brings together the governors of 12 states to work cooperatively on public policy issues of significance to the Midwestern region. In addition to Rounds and Sebelius, the current members of the MGA are Gov. Rod Blagojevich (Ill.), Gov. Mitch Daniels (Ind.), Gov. Chet Culver (Iowa), Gov. Jennifer Granholm (Mich.), Gov. Tim Pawlenty (Minn.), Gov. Jay Nixon (Mo.), Gov. Dave Heineman (Neb.), Gov. John Hoeven (N.D.), Gov. Ted Strickland (Ohio), and Gov. Jim Doyle (Wis.). 444 North Capitol Street, NW Suite 401 Washington, DC 20001-1512 Tel: 202.624.5460 Fax: 202.624.5452

Regional Office 701 East 22nd Street Suite 110 Lombard, Illinois 60148 Tel: 630.925.1922 Fax: 630.925.1930 www.midwesterngovernors.org

> Chair **M. Michael Rounds** South Dakota

Vice Chair Jennifer Granholm Michigan

> Past Chair, 2005 Rod Blagojevich Illinois

Chester J. Culver Iowa

> Mitch Daniels Indiana

Past Chair 2007 Jim Doyle Wisconsin

Dave Heineman Nebraska

> Past Chair, 2004 John Hoeven North Dakota

> > Jay Nixon Missouri

Past Chair, 2006 **Tim Pawlenty** Minnesota

Kathleen Sebelius Kansas

> Ted Strickland Ohio