

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Emily Marthaler (202) 624-5460 March 12, 2009

Midwestern Governors Association Releases Regional Transportation Recommendations

Washington, D.C. –South Dakota Gov. Mike Rounds, immediate past chair of the Midwestern Governors Association (MGA), today released regional recommendations for the reauthorization of the federal transportation bill. These transportation recommendations were the cornerstone of Rounds' agenda as chair of the MGA, *Transportation for Energy, People and Products*.

An advisory group was formed last year to assist the governors and their staff in the development of these recommendations. The governors' recommendations focus on state and federal funding, urban and rural transit systems, and passenger and freight movement on the region's rails. Additionally, the document includes innovative approaches that the region's states have taken to address transportation challenges in the Midwest.

"Transportation serves as the backbone of our nation's economy, and the Midwest is a vital link in moving products and people across the country...and to our global partners," Rounds said. "These recommendations will emphasize the Midwest's role to Congress and help strengthen our region's economy."

"A solid transportation system is necessary for a prosperous economy," Michigan Gov. Jennifer Granholm, MGA chair, said. "Midwestern recommendations for the upcoming reauthorization of the transportation bill will help protect our region's unique needs border crossings, manufacturing and energy production."

The recommendations are available by visiting www.midwesterngovernors.org/publications.htm.

Under Rounds' leadership, the MGA has also called on Congress to address the solvency of the Highway Trust Fund. Visit www.midwesterngovernors.org/resolutions.htm.

444 North Capitol Street, NW Suite 401 Washington, DC 20001-1512 Tel: 202.624.5460 Fax: 202.624.5452

Regional Office 701 East 22nd Street Suite 110 Lombard, Illinois 60148 Tel: 630.925.1922 Fax: 630.925.1930 www.midwesterngovernors.org

> Chair Jennifer Granholm Michigan

Immediate Past Chair **M. Michael Rounds** South Dakota

> Chester J. Culver Iowa

> > Mitch Daniels Indiana

> > Past Chair, 2007 Jim Doyle Wisconsin

> > Past Chair, 2004 John Hoeven North Dakota

> > > Jay Nixon Missouri

Past Chair, 2006 **Tim Pawlenty** Minnesota

> Pat Quinn Illinois

Kathleen Sebelius Kansas

> Ted Strickland Ohio