Ford Motor Company CEO to Deliver MGA Summit Keynote Address


Jim Hackett to Discuss the Future of Transportation and Ford’s Vision for It

Washington, D.C. – Today the Midwestern Governors Association (MGA) and Governor John Kasich of Ohio announced that Jim Hackett, president and chief executive officer of Ford Motor Company, will deliver the keynote speech at the MGA’s summit: The Smartland: Prepared, Agile and Empowered for the Future. The summit takes place September 19-20, 2018 in Columbus, Ohio and serves as the capstone for Governor Kasich’s agenda as MGA Chairman.

Hackett will discuss Ford’s belief that freedom of movement is fundamental for human progress, and how smart mobility solutions and automated technologies will be key to helping people move freely through this new era of transportation.

“Ford has played an important role in Ohio’s renaissance because of its ability to see what’s coming next, plan for it and then execute with precision. That ability will serve the company well in the face of this coming wave of technological change and Jim Hackett’s leadership will be key to the company’s success,” said Kasich. “I’m grateful to Jim for agreeing to take time out to share his thoughts on these monumental changes ahead.”

More information, including a draft meeting agenda and registration, is available online at The summit will feature leading thinkers in energy, transportation and learning who will discuss how the Midwest and the country can navigate changes in these areas to emerge stronger and ready to succeed.

The Midwestern Governors Association (MGA) is a non-profit, bipartisan organization that brings together governors, their staff, and state agencies to address significant public policy issues and provide a vehicle to advocate for them. It focuses its efforts in four primary policy areas: economic development, agriculture, energy, and Midwest branding. Current members of the MGA include Gov. Bruce Rauner (IL), Gov. Eric Holcomb (IN), Gov. Kim Reynolds (IA), Gov. Jeff Colyer, M.D. (KS), Gov. Rick Snyder (MI), Gov. Mark Dayton (MN), Gov. Michael Parson (MO), Gov. Pete Ricketts (NE), Doug Burgum (ND), Gov. John Kasich (OH), Gov. Dennis Daugaard (SD), and Gov. Scott Walker (WI). View the MGA’s America’s Smartland video by clicking here