Ohio Governor John Kasich Elected as MGA Chair

Washington, D.C. – A bipartisan group of Midwestern governors is proud to announce
that Ohio Governor John Kasich has been named as chairman of the Midwestern
Governors Association (MGA). Governor Kasich’s agenda is titled: The Smartland:
Prepared, Agile and Empowered for the Future-Workforce, Infrastructure, Energy and

“I am honored to chair the MGA, and I look forward to working with my fellow
Midwestern governors to help prepare our region for the next technological revolution
just over the horizon,” said Governor Kasich. “Our workforce, technology, infrastructure
and quality of life are all world class. As we seek to create new opportunities for our
people-and attract new people-we need to make sure we’re doing all we can to take all
of our resources to the next level. I look forward to facilitating the active exchange of
ideas and teamwork that can make this happen.”

Under Governor Kasich’s leadership, the association will explore this challenge by
looking at how education and training intersects with our region’s strengths in
infrastructure, advanced technology, automation and energy, to allow the Midwest to be
a premier location for success far into the future.

“The region has a lot to offer,” said MGA executive director Jesse Heier. “The Midwest is home to some of the best students, workers, and resources on the planet. We look forward to working with Governor Kasich and all Midwestern governors on this vital economic and social transformation brought on by new technology and automation.”

For more information, please visit www.midwesterngovernors.org/ChairAgenda.htm.


The Midwestern Governors Association (MGA) is a non-profit, bipartisan organization that brings together governors, their staff, and state agencies to address significant public policy issues and provide a vehicle to advocate for them. It focuses its efforts in four primary policy areas: economic development, agriculture, energy, and Midwest branding. Current members of the MGA include Gov. Bruce Rauner (Ill.), Gov. Eric Holcomb (Ind.), Gov. Kim Reynolds (Iowa), Gov. Jeff Colyer, M.D. (Kan.), Gov. Rick Snyder (Mich.), Gov. Mark Dayton (Minn.), Gov. Eric Greitens (Mo.), Gov. Pete Ricketts (Neb.), Doug Burgum (ND), Gov. John Kasich (Ohio), Gov. Dennis Daugaard (SD), and Gov. Scott Walker (Wis.).