MGA Addresses Choices and Flexibility for Electric Grid

Indianapolis, Indiana – The Midwestern Governors Association (MGA) recently met in Indianapolis to examine the tools available to states, the region, utilities and grid operators to meet the future challenges of grid and electricity reliability. The meeting, Empowering the Grid: Choices and Flexibility for Grid Operations and Utilization, took place September 16 – 17, and attendees included governors’ staff, state utility commissioners, utilities and other industry stakeholders.

“Throughout the Midwest, states are grappling with ways to meet new environmental demands on electricity production and upgrading their transmission infrastructure. Sharing ideas on how to meet new requirements, as well as ensuring regional flexibility, is an important conversation that I am glad this meeting helped facilitate,” said Indiana Governor Mike Pence.

Representatives from industry discussed their efforts to build and manage transmission projects and were joined by officials from the U.S. Department of Energy and the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, who provided insight into how the region can better cooperate and collaborate with the federal

This was the fourth annual meeting the MGA hosted to highlight the steady progress in planning for the electric transmission needs of the future.

Jesse Heier, executive director of the MGA, said, “Electric transmission planning serves as a great example of how Midwestern governors are working together across state borders to strengthen the regional economy, ensure grid reliability and continue to produce affordable electricity.”

More information on the MGA’s regional transmission efforts is available at


The MGA is a nonprofit, bipartisan organization that brings together the governors of Midwestern states to work cooperatively on issues of importance to the region. Current members of the MGA are Gov. Pat Quinn (Ill.), Gov. Mike Pence (Ind.), Gov. Terry Branstad (Iowa), Gov. Sam Brownback (Kansas), Gov. Rick Snyder (Mich.), Gov. Mark Dayton (Minn.), Gov. Jay Nixon (Mo.), Gov. John Kasich (Ohio) and Gov. Scott Walker